CP Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Click on any of the FAQ links below to display the answers.

How can I find out if my payment was received?

It is easy to get information about payments, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. On the Nebraska Child Support Payment Center website, you can click on 'Payment History' to view your payments. The payment history will show payments that have come through the payment center since August 1, 2003. You can also Contact Us. To request a history of payments received before August 1, 2003, including tax intercepts and non-monetary receipts, please call 1-877-631-9973, Option 2.

Who will decide how to distribute child support payments when there are multiple cases?

State and federal laws and the courts mandate how child support payments are distributed. The Child Support Enforcement Division of the Department of Health and Human Services follows these rules when determining how the child support payments are distributed.

How can custodial parents or guardians make sure they receive their child support payments as quickly as possible?

The fastest and safest way to receive your payment is to sign up for direct deposit or the Electronic Payment Card. Click on "Individuals Receiving Child Support" and follow the link. You can also call the Nebraska Child Support Payment Center at 1-877-631-9973, Option 3, and request a form.

What is direct deposit and how does it work?

The Nebraska Child Support Payment Center (NCSPC) uses Automated Clearing House (ACH) to send and receive money electronically. It’s fast, easy, safe, and secure. You can sign up to receive your money by direct deposit so your child support payment will be automatically deposited into your bank account, saving you a trip to the bank. Because your money is sent electronically, you won’t have to wait for your check in the mail. The NCSPC provides this service free of charge, so please sign up today.

How will I benefit by using direct deposit?

First, you will receive your money faster, up to three days sooner because you don’t have to wait on the mail. Second, you don’t have to go to the bank. Your money will be there waiting for you. Third, it’s safe and secure. Your check can’t be stolen or lost. Finally, it’s free. The Nebraska Child Support Payment Center will deposit the money directly into your account at no cost.

What is Electronic Payment Card?

The Nebraska Child Support Payment Center (NCSPC) works with U.S. Bank to provide this Visa logo card. Having your child support deposited on this card will provide a fast, secure way to receive your child support with the benefits of a Visa debit card. With the EPC there is no need for a personal bank account.

Whom do I contact for help in enforcing my child support order?

Contact the Child Support Enforcement Division of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) at 1-877-631-9973, Option 2.

Can delinquent payments be garnishments from federal or state income tax refunds?

For questions regarding these types of garnishments, please contact the Department of Health and Human Services at 1-877-631-9973, Option 2.

Can child support be collected from a non-custodial parent who lives outside the state?

Yes. The Child Support Enforcement Division of the Department of Health and Human Services is responsible for enforcement of child support and can be contacted at 1-877-631-9973, Option 2.