The Nebraska Child Support Payment Center (NCSPC) was created by federal mandate to centralize the collection and payment of child support payments. The NCSPC, a division of the Nebraska State Treasurer’s Office, receives and distributes child support payments under an agreement with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. The NCSPC is responsible for receiving and disbursing an average of $25 million a month to more than 51,000 families.
The Employer Outreach program works with employers who remit child support payments on behalf of their employees. The Employer Outreach team conducts free informational seminars for employers throughout the state. The schedule is available on the NSCPC website homepage. Employer Outreach is available at 1-877-631-9973, Option 3.
The Customer Service team answers phone calls from child support payers, recipients, and employers. Customer Service is available at 1-877-631-9973, Option 3.
Employers who receive orders to withhold child support money from their employees must remit those withholdings to the NCSPC following these procedures:
- Start withholding the first pay period after the date on the notice.
- Send payment within seven working days of the pay date.
- Employers are allowed to assess an administrative fee from the obligor’s net income not to exceed $2.50 per month.
- Provide at least two unique employee identifiers to ensure that credit is given to the proper person. Unique identifiers include the Remittance Identifier (starts with 'AR'), employee name, social security number, Case Identifier, or Court Identifier as provided on the Income Withholding Order.
Neb. Rev. Stat. §43-3342.03(4): "All employers with more than fifty employees who have an employee with a child support order shall remit child support payments electronically."
For questions, contact the Employer Outreach team at 1-877-631-9973, Option 3.
Neb. Rev. Stat. §43-1724: "The court may sanction an employer or other payor $25 per day, up to $500 per incident, for failure to comply with proper notice."
If you have questions about the validity of the Order or Notice, contact the agency or person listed on the Order or Notice. If you fail to withhold income as the Order or Notice directs, you are liable for both the accumulated amount that should have been withheld from the employee’s income and any penalties set by State or Tribal law or procedure.
Neb. Rev. Stat. §43-1725: "The court may impose a civil fine of up to $500.00 for each violation of the above. An employer may be required to make full restitution to the aggrieved employee, including reinstatement and back pay.”
You are subject to a fine determined under State or Tribal law for discharging an employee/obligor from employment, refusing to employ, or taking disciplinary action against an employee/obligor because of a child support withholding.